CommunityMyFDL Front Page

Hunter’s Blood Moon Eclipse Tonight

A Colorful Lunar Eclipse

Space.com:
Here in North America, we are in a fair location to see this amazing alignment of the sun, Earth and moon, and if conditions are right, the moon, for a time, will turn blood red — what some astronomers call a “blood moon.” The entire event of totality will be visible in the United States, and the farther west viewers are, the higher the moon will appear to be in the sky at the moment of totality. This is the second in a series of four total lunar eclipses that occur in six-month intervals, known as a “lunar tetrad.

3:25am PT 6:25am ET

See maps and all the details at Sky & Telescope:

Also

“If you’re stuck under cloudy skies, at least two webcasts are planned. Weather permitting in Los Angeles, Griffith Observatory plans a 4½-hour-long webcast beginning on October 8th at 1:15 a.m. PDT (8:15 UT). Meanwhile, Gianluca Masi has assembled an international team of photographers for his Virtual Telescope Project webcast at 6:00 a.m. EDT (10:00 UT).”

Previous post

2014 Elections: Democrats in Ohio Will Be Massacred. Prelude to 2016? Maybe.

Next post

Late Night: Homeland Discussion: Drone Queen “..find me a way to spin this!”

Elliott

Elliott

7 Comments