CommunityFDL Main Blog

Inauguration Schedule

Inauguration day schedule, via Reuters:

  • 11:46 a.m: Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor administers the vice presidential oath of office to Vice President Biden
  • 11:50 a.m: Singer James Taylor performs “America the Beautiful”
  • 11:55 a.m: U.S. Chief Justice John Roberts administers the presidential oath of office to President Obama
  • 11:56 a.m: Trumpets perform “Ruffles and Flourishes” and the U.S. Marine Band performs “Hail to the Chief,” followed by a 21-gun salute
  • 12 p.m: President Obama delivers the inaugural address
  • 12:21 p.m: Singer Kelly Clarkson performs “America (My Country ‘Tis of Thee)”
  • 12:26 p.m: Cuban-American poet Richard Blanco reads a poem
  • 12:30 p.m: Benediction is delivered by the Rev. Luis Leon
  • 12:34 p.m: Singer Beyonce sings the national anthem, “The Star-Spangled Banner”
  • 12:39 p.m: President Obama signs official documents.

DC metro system has put an addendum on its website on how to get around (including a map showing the temporary deadends for the city bus routes). h/t EFB

Previous post

Over Easy: Monday Science

Next post

Lupe Fiasco Removed From Inaugural Party After Criticizing Obama

Jane Hamsher

Jane Hamsher

Jane is the founder of Her work has also appeared on the Huffington Post, Alternet and The American Prospect. She’s the author of the best selling book Killer Instinct and has produced such films Natural Born Killers and Permanent Midnight. She lives in Washington DC.
Subscribe in a reader