CommunityPam's House Blend

The 2012 NYC Anti-Violence Project honors BD Wong, Verizon, Interbank Roundtable Committee

The New York City Anti-Violence Project’s Courage Awards were created 16 years ago to honor outstanding individuals, organizations and corporations whose work on behalf of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and HIV-affected communities—particularly on behalf of victims and survivors of violence—has made a profound impact on all of our lives.

This year, on September 27, the AVP will hold the 2012 event and present awards to:

BD Wong, star of television and Broadway, and a tremendous, long-time spokesperson for and supporter of AVP

Verizon Wireless, for their support of AVP’s mission and work and for their commitment to LGBTQH communities and the issues that matter most to us

Interbank Roundtable Committee, a networking group of LGBT leaders at financial services firms— and AVP supporters—dedicated to accelerating the pace of workplace equality. The Courage Awards will be followed by the Courage Awards After Dark after party with DJ Kevin Graves. The bar is sponsored by Purity Vodka, Mount Gay Rum, Lagunitas Beer and Izze.

Past honorees and presenters of the Courage Awards include Alan Cumming, Eve Ensler, Harvey Fierstein, Tony Kushner, Ana Matronic, Juliane Moore, Judy Shepard, Deutsche Bank, Mercedes Benz USA, Sundance Channel and Time Warner Inc., among others. AVP empowers lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and HIV-affected communities and allies to end all forms of violence through organizing and education, and supports survivors through counseling and advocacy.

I received the Courage Award back in 2009 with Andy Towle (Towleroad), Bil Browning (The Bilerico Project), and Joe Jervis (Joe.My.God.), and it was an honor to receive the recognition by the The New York City AVO for my work on the Blend.

New York City Anti-Violence Project



Previous post

Frackonomics, or, Why we can't have anything nice

Next post

Criminal Prosecutions Not Happening from New Financial Fraud Task Force

Pam Spaulding

Pam Spaulding