CommunityFDL Main Blog

Democrats Who Joined with Republicans to Pass Bean Amendment on TARP Bonuses

People in an earlier thread were asking for a list of the 63 Democrats who joined with the 165 Republicans to pass an amendment putting a huge loophole in Alan Grayson’s bill, which would have forced TARP recipients to stop paying "retention bonuses" as long as they were being supported by taxpayer dollars.

Melissa Bean’s amendment says that as long as banks start paying back their loan money, which they can do with their loan money, they are no longer subject to the limitations imposed by the Grayson bill.

Here are the Democrats who voted to give the banks the loophole they wanted. From Open Congress:

ReRep. Gary Ackerman [D, NY-5]
Rep. John Adler [D, NJ-3]
Rep. Jason Altmire [D, PA-4]
Rep. Melissa Bean [D, IL-8]
Rep. Timothy Bishop [D, NY-1]
Rep. John Boccieri [D, OH-16]
Rep. Frederick Boucher [D, VA-9]
Rep. Travis Childers [D, MS-1]
Rep. Yvette Clarke [D, NY-11]
Rep. Steve Cohen [D, TN-9]
Rep. Jim Cooper [D, TN-5]
Rep. Joseph Crowley [D, NY-7]
Rep. Henry Cuellar [D, TX-28]
Rep. Lincoln Davis [D, TN-4]
Rep. Eliot Engel [D, NY-17]
Rep. Bob Etheridge [D, NC-2]
Rep. Bill Foster [D, IL-14] Aye
Rep. Gabrielle Giffords [D, AZ-8]
Rep. Parker Griffith [D, AL-5]
Rep. Jane Harman [D, CA-36]
Rep. James Himes [D, CT-4]
Rep. Steve Israel [D, NY-2]
Rep. Paul Kanjorski [D, PA-11]
Rep. Ronald Kind [D, WI-3]
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D, AZ-1]
Rep. Frank Kratovil [D, MD-1]
Rep. Rick Larsen [D, WA-2]
Rep. Nita Lowey [D, NY-18]
Rep. Daniel Maffei [D, NY-25]
Rep. Carolyn Maloney [D, NY-14]
Rep. Betsy Markey [D, CO-4]
Rep. Edward Markey [D, MA-7]
Rep. James Marshall [D, GA-8]
Rep. Eric Massa [D, NY-29]
Rep. Jim Matheson [D, UT-2]
Rep. Betty McCollum [D, MN-4]
Rep. Mike McIntyre [D, NC-7]
Rep. Michael McMahon [D, NY-13]
Rep. Gregory Meeks [D, NY-6]
Rep. Walter Minnick [D, ID-1]
Rep. Patrick Murphy [D, PA-8]
Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D, NY-8]
Rep. Richard Neal [D, MA-2]
Rep. Glenn Nye [D, VA-2]
Rep. James Oberstar [D, MN-8]
Rep. Ed Perlmutter [D, CO-7]
Rep. Collin Peterson [D, MN-7]
Rep. Jared Polis [D, CO-2]
Rep. Earl Pomeroy [D, ND-0]
Rep. Charles Rangel [D, NY-15]
Rep. Mike Ross [D, AR-4] A
Rep. C.A. Ruppersberger [D, MD-2]
Rep. Bobby Rush [D, IL-1]
Rep. John Salazar [D, CO-3]
Rep. Allyson Schwartz [D, PA-13]
Rep. Joe Sestak [D, PA-7]
Rep. Heath Shuler [D, NC-11]
Rep. Adam Smith [D, WA-9]
Rep. Victor Snyder [D, AR-2]
Rep. John Tanner [D, TN-8]
Rep. Anthony Weiner [D, NY-9]
Rep. David Wu [D, OR-1]
Rep. John Yarmuth [D, KY-3] p

And here’s Brad Sherman about why this amendment is so objectionable:

Previous post

Friday Constitutional 18 - Amendments 18,19 And 20

Next post

San Diego's Marriage Town Hall: NCLR's Kate Kendell Talks About Prop 8 Legal Case

Jane Hamsher

Jane Hamsher

Jane is the founder of Her work has also appeared on the Huffington Post, Alternet and The American Prospect. She’s the author of the best selling book Killer Instinct and has produced such films Natural Born Killers and Permanent Midnight. She lives in Washington DC.
Subscribe in a reader