What do you say?

Carlin, who had a history of heart and drug-dependency problems, died at Saint John’s Health Center in Santa Monica about 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT/0100 GMT) after being admitted earlier in the afternoon for chest pains, spokesman Jeff Abraham told Reuters.

Known for his edgy, provocative material developed over 50 years, the bald, bearded Carlin achieved status as an anti-Establishment icon in the 1970s with stand-up bits full of drug references and a routine called “Seven Words You Can Never Say On Television.” A regulatory battle over a radio broadcast of the routine ultimately reached the U.S. Supreme Court.

Here’s the original “Seven Words” (that got him in trouble with the FCC). Below is a later routine based on it.

As controversial as that routine might have been, I think his more recent stand-up on religion  is probably just as inflammatory in some quarters.

Pam Spaulding

Pam Spaulding

16 Comments