…and continues to slide backwards into the Middle Ages.

Interesting how ever since I was a little girl growing up in Indiana, everyone always argued about what “Hoosier” (as in “Hoosier State”) actually meant. Well, all I can say is, now we know…it means “bigot.”

(Or, to be fair, it means that the majority of the people in the state are bigots…)

Senate OKs same-sex marriage ban
Public will vote on amendment if it passes House unchanged

A proposed ban on same-sex marriages now faces just one more hurdle in the House before Hoosiers will be able to vote on the constitutional amendment.

The Indiana Senate voted 39-10 Monday to pass the amendment, which defines marriage as a union between a man and a woman.
State law already bans same-sex marriages, but supporters of the constitutional amendment have maintained their measure would prevent activist judges from changing that law.
“By passing this amendment, we are giving the people the right to decide whether the definition of marriage should be preserved and put beyond the reach of the courts,” said Sen. Brandt Hershman, R-Wheatfield.

…blah, blah, blah; these stories all start to sound alike after awhile, don’t they (Michigan, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Virginia, etc…).

The entire story is here: http://www.indystar….

I find Brandt Hershman to be a most pompous ass…and I was rather surprised to see his picture in the state legislature website. He was young, and quite fresh-faced to be such a spearheading Hoosier bigot.

How they voted is below the fold…Note that in a state as backward as Indiana, several Democrats embraced discrimination along with their Republican counterparts in hate, and typically, not a single Republican voted against it.

Voting in favor
Ronnie J. Alting, R-Lafayette
Vaneta Becker, R-Evansville
Phil Boots, R-Crawfordsville
Richard D. Bray, R-Martinsville
Bob Deig, D-Mount Vernon
Mike Delph, R-Carmel
Gary Dillon, R-Columbua City
Jeff Drozda, R-Westfield
David C. Ford, R-Hartford City
Beverly J. Gard, R-Greenfield
Vic Heinold, R-Kouts
Brandt Hershman, R-Wheatfield
Lindel Hume, D-Princeton
Robert N. Jackman, R-Milroy
Luke Kenley, R-Noblesville
Dennis Kruse, R-Auburn
Sue Landske, R-Cedar Lake
Connie Lawson, R-Danville
Jim Lewis, D-Charlestown
David C. Long, R-Fort Wayne
Teresa S. Lubbers, R-Indianapolis
Robert L. Meeks, R-LaGrange
James W. Merritt Jr., R-Indianapolis
Patricia L. Miller, R-Indianapolis
Ryan Mishler, R-Bremen
Frank Mrvan, D-Hammond
Johnny Nugent, R-Lawrenceburg
Allen E. Paul, R-Richmond
Marvin D. Riegsecker, R-Goshen
Timothy D. Skinner, D-Terre Haute
Brent Steele, R-Bedford
Greg Walker, R-Columbus
Brent Waltz, R-Greenwood
John M. Waterman, R-Shelburn
Thomas K. Weatherwax, R-Logansport
Thomas J. Wyss, R-Fort Wayne
R. Michael Young, R-Indianapolis
Richard Young Jr., D-Milltown
Joseph C. Zakas, R-Granger

Voting against
Anita Bowser, D-Michigan City
Jean Breaux, D-Indianapolis
John Broden, D-South Bend
Sue Errington, D-Muncie
Glenn Howard, D-Indianapolis
Tim Lanane, D-Anderson
Earline Rogers, D-Gary
Vi Simpson, D-Ellettsville
Connie Sipes, D-New Albany
Karen Tallian, D-Portage

Samuel Smith, D-East Chicago

Bilrico diarist Chris Douglas has an interesting word of warning to Indiana State Republicans, worth a read: http://www.bilerico….

Julien Sharp

Julien Sharp