CommunityPam's House Blend

8 PM states – Election 2006 – open thread

Buh-bye, Man-On-Dog. (9 PM, AP)

Statement from the NGLTF on Santorum’s defeat:

Rick Santorum, the third-ranking GOP senator, compared same-sex marriage to “man on child, man on dog” sex. He supported allowing faith-based service providers to discriminate in hiring based on religion with federal dollars and to proselytize. Casey opposes a federal marriage amendment that would ban same-sex marriage and he supports civil unions.

Statement from the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, Inc.

“We are thrilled, ecstatic and overjoyed that Rick Santorum has been thrashed at the polls. His extreme and gratuitous homophobia will no longer pollute the Senate. Good riddance.” — Matt Foreman, Executive Director, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, Inc.

Post news, voting shenanigans and comments about these states…

Polls close in Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania and Tennessee. Arkansas polls close at 8:30.

(States with links have their own threads because of marriage amendments)


Governor (now R): Lt. Gov. Lucy Baxley (D) vs. Gov. Bob Riley (R)

Arkansas (8:30)
Governor (now R): Atty. Gen. Mike Beebe (D) vs. Asa Hutchinson (R)

Governor (now R): Mayor John DeStefano (D) vs. Gov. M. Jodi Rell (R)
Senator (now D): Ned Lamont (D) vs. Alan Schlesinger (R) vs. Joe Lieberman (CFL)
2nd District (now R): Joe Courtney (D) vs. Rep. Rob Simmons (R)
4th District (now R): Diane Farrell (D) vs. Rep. Chris Shays (R)
5th District (now R): Chris Murphy (D) vs. Rep. Nancy Johnson (R)

Senator (now D): Sen. Tom Carper (D) vs. Jan Ting (R)

District of Columbia
Mayor (now D): Adrian Fenty (D) vs. Dave Kranich (R)

Governor (now R): Rep. Jim Davis (D) vs. Atty. Gen. Charlie Crist (R)
Senator (now D): Sen. Bill Nelson (D) vs. Rep. Katherine Harris (R)
13th District (now R): Christine Jennings (D) vs. Vern Buchanan (R)
16th District (now R): Tim Mahoney (D) vs. former Rep. Mark Foley (R)
22nd District (now R): State Sen. Ron Klein (D) vs. Rep. Clay Shaw (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. Rod Blagojevich (D) vs. Treasurer Judy Baar Topinka (R)
6th District (now R): Tammy Duckworth (D) vs. Peter Roskam (R)
8th District (now D): Melissa Bean (D) vs. David McSweeney (R)
10th District (now R): Dan Seals (D) vs. Rep. Mark Kirk (R)
17th District (now D): Phil Hare (D) vs. Andrea Lane Zinga (R) Kansas
Governor (now D): Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (D) vs. State Sen. Jim Barnett (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. John Baldacci (D) vs. State Sen. Chandler Woodcock (R) vs. Barbara Merrill (Indpt.) vs. Pat LaMarche (Green)

Governor (now R): Mayor Martin O’Malley (D) vs. Gov. Bob Ehrlich (R)
Senator (now D): Rep. Ben Cardin (D) vs. Lt. Gov. Michael Steele (R)
3rd District (now D): John P. Sarbanes (D) vs. John White (R)
6th District (now R): Andrew Duck (D) vs. Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R)

Governor (now R): Deval Patrick (D) vs. Lt. Gov. Kerry Healey (R)
Senator (now D): Sen. Edward Kennedy (D) vs. Ken Chase (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. Jennifer Granholm (D) vs. Dick DeVos (R)
Senator (now D): Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D) vs. Mike Bouchard (R)
8th District (now R): Jim Marcinkowski (D) vs. Rep. Mike Rogers (R)

Senator (now R): Erik Fleming (D) vs. Sen. Trent Lott (R)

Senator (now R): State Auditor Claire McCaskill (D) vs. Sen. Jim Talent (R)

Governor (now R): David Hahn (D) vs. Gov. Dave Heineman (R)
Senator (now D): Sen. Ben Nelson (D) vs. Pete Ricketts (R)
3rd District (now R): Scott Kleeb (D) vs. State Sen. Adrian Smith (R)

New Jersey
Senator (now D): Sen. Robert Menendez (D) vs. State Sen. Tom Kean Jr. (R)
5th District (now R): Paul Aronsohn (D) vs. Rep. Scott Garrett (R)
7th District (now R): Linda Stender (D) vs. Rep. Mike Ferguson (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. Brad Henry (D) vs. Rep. Ernest Istook (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. Ed Rendell (D) vs. Lynn Swann (R)
Senator (now R): State Treasurer Bob Casey Jr. (D) vs. Sen. Rick Santorum (R)
4th District (now R): Jason Altmire (D) vs. Rep. Melissa Hart (R)
6th District (now R): Lois Murphy (D) vs. Rep. Jim Gerlach (R)
7th District (now R): Joe Sestak (D) vs. Rep. Curt Weldon (R)
8th District (now R): Patrick Murphy (D) vs. Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (R)
10th District (now R): Chris Carney (D) vs. Rep. Don Sherwood (R)

South Dakota
Governor (now R): Jack Billion (D) vs. Gov. Mike Rounds (R)
At Large House Seat (now D): Rep. Stephanie Herseth (D) vs. Bruce Whalen (R)

Governor (now D): Gov. Phil Bredesen (D) vs. Jim Bryson (R)
Senator (now R): Rep. Harold Ford Jr. (D) vs. Bob Corker (R)


8:50: CNN projects Democratic incumbent Bob Menendez will win the New Jersey Senate race, defeating Republican challenger Tom Kean Jr.

Previous post

Tennessee amendment Election 2006 open thread

Next post

21st Century Democracy

Pam Spaulding

Pam Spaulding