…and in the fall, the Know-Nothings blossom.

Jay Tea, who is one of the WhizKidz at Whizbang (Knowledge Optional&#153), was one of the many, the offended, the predictable who was just darned put out at the audacity of the Nobel Commitee to award the Peace Prize to someone of the swarthy UN sect (Jay later made his selection of George W. Bush and irony called it a day and clocked out; its work done). Jay made his case thusly:

I guess it’s inevitable. The Nobel Peace Prize has always been the bastard stepchild of the family. The ones for the “hard” sciences still have their cachet. “Economics” was grafted on to the prizes by a bank in 1969. (Thanks for the tip, Julie.) But the “literature” prize is usually given to some excessively-PC author.

Whoa there, lil budy. “..to some excessively-pc author“?

As former Nobel Laureate William Faulkner (1949) once wrote:

“What the fuck?”

Let’s go back to, say, 1969.

2004 Elfriede Jelinek

2003 J.M. Coetzee

2002 Imre Kertész

2001 V.S. Naipaul

2000 Gao Xingjian

1999 Günter Grass

1998 José Saramago

1997 Dario Fo

1996 Wislawa Szymborska

1995 Seamus Heaney

1994 Kenzaburo Oe

1993 Toni Morrison

1992 Derek Walcott

1991 Nadine Gordimer

1990 Octavio Paz

1989 Camilo José Cela

1988 Naguib Mahfouz

1987 Joseph Brodsky

1986 Wole Soyinka

1985 Claude Simon

1984 Jaroslav Seifert

1983 William Golding

1982 Gabriel García Márquez

1981 Elias Canetti

1980 Czeslaw Milosz

1979 Odysseus Elytis

1978 Isaac Bashevis Singer

1977 Vicente Aleixandre

1976 Saul Bellow

1975 Eugenio Montale

1974 Eyvind Johnson, Harry Martinson

1973 Patrick White

1972 Heinrich Böll

1971 Pablo Neruda

1970 Alexandr Solzhenitsyn

1969 Samuel Beckett

PC wankers, each and every one of them.

Or as William Faulkner also said:

Everything goes by the board: honor, pride, decency to get the book written.

…or, in this case, the blog post.

Previous post

Bob Knight wigs out over Time piece on gay teens

Next post

No wonder he wants martial law



Yeah. Like I would tell you....